Skip directly to content

RIAA 2019


TAG is honored to host our annual event, the Research in Action Awards, on Thursday, November 14, 2019, at Town Stages in New York City. This will be a powerful experience that celebrates our 27 years of activism and progress promoting research, prevention, and treatment critical to ending the HIV, TB, and HCV epidemics, and building our strength for the struggles ahead.


David France
Oscar-nominated filmmaker, New York Times best-selling author, and award-winning investigative journalist. Director of How to Survive a Plague and The Death and Life of Marsha P. Johnson

Matthew Lopez
Olivier Award-winning playwright and screenwriter; author of The Inheritance on Broadway

Amanda Lugg
Long-time Activists and Director of Advocacy and LGBT Programming at African Services Committee

Dr. John B. Steever
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, The Mount Sinai Adolescent Health Center, Mount Sinai Medical Center, specializing in HIV prevention and treatment in young LGBTQ people

A special video presenting
Liza Minnelli
with an RIAA Lifetime Achievement in Fighting to End AIDS Award

Tom Kirdahy
Theatre Producer, Attorney, and Human Rights Advocate

Thursday, November 14, 2019
6pm – 8pm

Town Stages
221 West Broadway
New York, NY

BUY_tix_288x150_book.png     BUY_jnl_ad_288x150_book.png

The 2019 Research in Action Awards are chaired by Bob Bronzo and our co-hosts are Ann Northrop and Ron Goldberg.

riaa_2019_ligon_360x469.pngAcclaimed artist Glenn Ligon has donated a limited edition of 100 (+20 A/P) created especially for TAG this year, Black Rage (back cover). We're pleased to offer sponsors of $2000 or more one of these special prints, as available. To read Ligon's full bio please see our Limited Art Editions page.

The 2019 TAG Limited Art Edition is supported by a generous grant from the Marta Heflin Foundation.

Inaugurated to heighten awareness and visibility of AIDS advocacy, research, and philanthropy, the Research in Action Awards is TAG’s premier fundraising event. It provides us with donations vital to supporting our work.

We live in an unprecedented political era that brings new threats to TAG’s work every single day, and we need your commitment more than ever before. We’re so grateful for your support. TAG’s work shows that combining research, activism, and political will drives the discoveries and prevention and treatment interventions that will end these epidemics.

If you have any questions, or to reserve your Sponsorship, please contact Joe McConnell:, or by phone: 212-253-7922.

If you can’t join us this year, be with us in spirit –
make a donation to support TAG’s work.


Nick Debs

Marta Heflin Foundation

Kevin & Neil Goetz, Screen Engine/ASI
Merck & Co.

David Corkery
Robert Lennon & Mark Gilrain
Richard Lynn & Joseph Evall
Bobby McLain & Alberto Blanquel
Robert Moneteleone

Bob Bronzo
John F. Duane & Mary E. Northridge
Eddie Pelto – "In Memory of Daniel A. Volpe, Jr."
Bruce Schackman & Ed Sikov
Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

Jim Aquino
Scott P. Campbell
Christopher Canizares
Ruth Finkelstein & BC Craig
Mark Harrington
Barbara Hughes
Jay Leitz
David Sigal & NY State Senator Brad Hoylman
Mrinal Vikram & Kevin Finnegan

Steven & Denise Chickery
Benson Cohen
Robert Croonquist
Michael Cunningham
Dick Dadey
Paul L. Dietz
The Hon. Thomas K. Duane
Dr. Jennifer J. Furin
Assembly Member Deborah J. Glick
Trip Gulick, MD
Drew Hodges & Peter Kukielski
Michael K. Longacre – "In Memory of Tony Ortiz"
Jameel Jiwani
Joe McConnell & Erik Haagensen
Jeff Mendoza & Chuck Sklar
George & Mirla Morrison
Laura Morrison
Otsuka Novel Products GmbH
Bruce Pachter
Daniel Ptacek
James Saakvitne & Daniel Chow – "In honor of Dr. John B. Steever"
Peter Staley
Monte Steinman
Marc Szafran
Dennis Trunfio

List as of 9/16/19